[logo: Kansas Heritage Group] [image: old west covered wagon]

Oregon Trail Route

OT Route: East to West


Old Franklin, Arrow Rock, Fort Osage, Independence (follow the Santa Fe Trail route for 20-30 miles), Westport Landing (Kansas City)


Johnson County

Shawnee Mission, Olathe--Elm Grove/Lone Elm campground (south of Olathe), Gardner--Santa Fe Trail and Oregon Trail junction/divide (west of Gardner),

Douglas County

Blue Mound (southeast of Lawrence), Wakarusa River Crossing, Big Springs campground,

Shawnee County

Tecumseh, Topeka, Papin's ("Topeka") Ferry Crossing at the Kansas (Kaw) River. Silver Lake, Rossville,

Pottawatomie County

St. Marys Mission, Wamego, Louis Vieux Elm & Vermillion River Crossing, Rock Creek Crossing (south of Westmoreland), Blaine,

Marshall County

Black Vermillion River Crossing (the Bee or the Big Vermillion) (south and west of Frankfort), Alcove Springs/Sarah Keyes grave (about five miles south of Marysville), Marysville (Independence/Big Blue River Crossing), Hanover (Cottonwood Creek Crossing),


Platte River

Return to the Kansas Historic Trails
or to Old West Kansas
or to Kansas History Web Sites
or the Kansas Heritage Server.