[image: Kansas Heritage Group sunflower] [image: old west wagon on trail]

Smoky Hill Trail Route

The Kansas Heritage server would like to thank Morris W. Werner for contributing to this material from his book, "Pioneer Trails from U.S. Land Surveys. [U.S.G.S. Maps: Abilene, Russell, Hays and Ellis Sheets]


Leavenworth County

Fort Leavenworth (Leavenworth via the Missouri River),

Jefferson County


Shawnee County


Pottawatomie County


Riley County


Geary County

Fort Riley (junction of Republican and Smoky Hill Rivers), Junction City,

Dickinson County

Chapman's Creek Station, Chapman, Indian Hill, Detroit, Abilene (1859/1860), Solomon City,

Saline County

Cambria, Salina (1860),

Ellsworth County

Fort Harker, Ellsworth, Black Wolf,

Russell County

Hick's Station (Wilson Creek), Fossil Creek Station, Forsythe Creek Station,

Ellis County

Fort Fletcher (Old Fort Hays), Big Creek Station, Lookout Station, Louisa Springs Station,

Trego County

Stormy Hollow Station, Blufton Station, White Rock Station, Downer Station (Fort Downer),

Gove County

Grannell Springs, Chalk Bluff, Carlyle Station 15-15-30, Monument Station SW 33-14-31 (made Fort Monument later),

Logan County

Russell Springs, McAllaster (on the north fork of the Smoky Hill),

Wallace County

Fort Wallace (on the south fork of the Smoky Hill), Sharon Springs,


Four Mile House (log cabin built in 1859), Denver, Pikes Peak.

  • Smoky Hill Trail History
  • Account--Brantner/Smith Party
    Return to the Kansas Historic Trails or to Kansas History Web Sites
    or return to the Kansas Heritage Server.